Skip To Main Content

Athletics

GMS Basketball Court in GYM

BASKETBALL                                      

Basketball season begins around the end of October and runs until end of January. The basketball team practices every day after school until 4:30. Students must be in the 7th or 8th grade, maintain 2.0 GPA,  and have a current physical on file to be eligible to try out. (There is no cost to try out.)

GMS Boys Basketball Team is coached by Benny Babin (Bernard.Babin@apsb.org)

GMS Girls Basketball Team is coached by Betsey Baldwin (Betsey.Baldwin@apsb.org).

GMS Goal Post with football field in background

FOOTBALL

Football season begins around the beginning of August and runs until the end of October.  The football team practices every day after school until 5:10.  Students must be in 7th or 8th grade, maintain a 2.0 GPA, and have a current physical on file to be eligible to try out. Tryouts are usually around August 1.  (There is no cost to try out.)

Coaches:  Benny Babin (Bernard.Babin@apsb.org)

                      Jarrad Poirrier (Jarrad.Poirrier@apsb.org

 

GMS Basketball Court in GYM

SOCCER                                                 

Soccer season begins around the beginning to middle of March and runs until May. The soccer team practices every day after school until 4:00. Students must be in the 7th or 8th grade, maintain 2.0 GPA,  and have a current physical on file to be eligible to try out. (There is no cost to try out.)

GMS Boys SoccerTeam is coached by Sean Bray (Sean.Bray@apsb.org)

GMS Girls Soccer Team is coached by Taylor Touchet (Taylor.Touchet@apsb.org).

Photo of GMS student throwing discus

TRACK & FIELD                                  

Track & Field season begins around the beginning of February and runs until middle of March. The track and field teams practice every day after school until 4:00, except on Tuesdays, when they practice from 4:00 - 5:30 at St. Amant High School. Students must be in the 7th or 8th grade, maintain 2.0 GPA,  and have a current physical on file to be eligible to try out. (There is no cost to try out.)

GMS Boys Track & Field Team is coached by Jarrad Poirrier  (Jarrad.Poirrier@apsb.org).

GMS Girls Track & Field Team is coached by Rhianna Garon  (Rhianna.Garon@apsb.org).

Photo of GMS student volleying ball over net in GMS Gym

VOLLEYBALL                                      

Volleyball tryouts are held the first week of school, and the season runs from August to the end of October. The volleyball team practices every day after school until 4:00. Students must be in the 7th or 8th grade, maintain 2.0 GPA,  and have a current physical on file to be eligible to try out. (There is no cost to try out.)

GMS Volleyball Team is coached by Coach Mady Booty (Madelyn.Booty@apsb.org).

Cheerleaders make pyramids on sideline of football field--side view

DANCE & CHEER TEAMS

Dance and Cheer tryouts are held in the Spring for members who will participate in the following school year.  Practices are held after school and during the summer.  The dance team is known as "The Pirettes".  Students must be in the 7th or 8th grade, maintain a 2.0 GPA, and have a current physical on file to be eligible to try out.  

GMS Cheer Coach: Alexis Alexander (Alexis.Alexander@apsb.org)

GMS Dance Coach:  Emily Crocker (Emily.Crocker@apsb.org)